No KYC · Hong Kong, Singapore, Tokyo at one price · Pay in BTC, USDT, USDC, ETH, SOL, LTC
Language: English
Order a VPS

Mainstream check · Vultr's documents read 2 November 2026

Can I pay Vultr with crypto, and will Vultr ask for ID?

What Vultr's own payment, account and billing pages say about crypto and identity, the date each was last updated, where they disagree, and what they leave open.

Last updated: · 7 min read

Quick answer

Can I pay Vultr with crypto, and will Vultr ask for ID?

Yes. Vultr accepts nine coins through BitPay, including Bitcoin and USDC but not USDT or Monero (payment-methods page updated 26 October 2026). Its account guide allows a small deposit instead of a card, but its billing FAQ says a card or PayPal must be linked to register; Lacquerbay found no ID-upload rule on 2 November 2026.

Which cryptocurrencies does Vultr accept?

Vultr takes nine coins, all through the payment processor BitPay: Bitcoin (BTC), Bitcoin Cash (BCH), Ethereum (ETH), Dogecoin (DOGE), Paxos (PAX), Binance USD (BUSD), Litecoin (LTC), USD Coin (USDC) and Gemini Dollar (GUSD). The list sits on Vultr's payment-methods page, updated 26 October 2026, next to cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, JCB), PayPal, Alipay and UnionPay. Tether (USDT) and Monero (XMR) are not on it. A payment tops up the account balance, which then pays for any Vultr product.

According to Lacquerbay's survey of 2 November 2026, Vultr is the only one of five mainstream clouds that names the coins it accepts. The others, read the same day:

Crypto and identity at five mainstream clouds

CloudCryptoAsked at signupID document
VultrNine coins through BitPayEmail, then a payment method for verificationNo upload rule found; the terms reserve an account verification process
DigitalOceanStablecoins, coins not named, access described as limited; $25 authorizationA payment method before any resource; name and address for cryptoNo rule in the documents read; a 2017 community thread quotes a request for a photo holding an ID
Akamai (Linode)NonePhone code by SMS, then a card or PayPalNo rule found; some accounts get a manual review
Amazon LightsailNoneBilling address, phone code, card or direct debitNo general rule found
Hetzner CloudNoneCard, SEPA debit, bank transfer or PayPalMay ask for a government ID or a card prepayment before an order

Prices checked on

Each cell summarises the provider's own documentation; links in the sources below.

Can a new Vultr account be opened with crypto alone?

Vultr's documents give two different answers. The account guide, updated 23 October 2026, tells a new user to add a payment method of their choice for verification: a card can be linked with a $0.00 deposit, and any other payment option needs a small deposit. Read as written, a first BitPay deposit is that other option.

The billing FAQ, updated the same day, answers a question about promotional codes with this line: "A valid Credit Card or PayPal must be linked to register for services". The context is promotions, but the words cover registration. The two pages were both live on 2 November 2026.

What each Vultr document says about paying and registering

Vultr documentLast updatedWhat it saysWhat it means for a crypto-only user
Create an account23 October 2026Add a payment method of your choice for verification; a card links with a $0.00 deposit; other options need a small depositA crypto deposit can stand in for a card
Billing FAQ (promotional codes)23 October 2026A card or PayPal must be linked to register for services and to be eligible for promotionsCrypto alone may not be enough to register, and is not enough for promotions
Why do I need to enter a payment method?26 October 2026A valid payment method is required to deploy; it helps verify identity and blocks automated abuse, fraud and spamThe payment method doubles as an identity check
Terms of Service28 March 2024A payment method is chosen at registration; a valid one, such as a credit card, is required for paid services; Vultr may set up an account verification processVerification can be required at any time

Prices checked on

Vultr documents read on 2 November 2026; the Terms of Service page refused automated reading and was read in a browser.

Will Vultr ask for ID?

No Vultr page read on 2 November 2026 asks for an identity document at signup, but the terms let Vultr verify an account and the information given. Signup asks for an email address and a password, an email check, then a payment method. The terms forbid opening an account under a false identity. What a verification would ask for is not published.

Two points stay open. Vultr raises account limits only after a record of steady use and paid invoices, reviewed by a person. Whether BitPay asks the payer for anything was not checked for this page.

What else should a crypto payer know about Vultr?

The balance model, refunds and promotions behave differently for a crypto payer.

  • Refunds: the terms say a refund, when one is made, goes back to the original method of payment only, and prepaid fees may not be refunded after an early cancellation. How that applies to a BitPay payment is not stated.
  • Promotions: promo credit needs a linked card or PayPal, per the billing FAQ.
  • Regions and price: Tokyo, Osaka and Singapore at one price, $5.00 a month for 1 vCPU / 1 GB / 25 GB with 1 TB; no Hong Kong region.
  • Mail: outbound port 25 is blocked by default on new instances and opened through a support ticket.
  • Tax: listed prices exclude tax.

Vultr's prices next to the other clouds and to crypto hosts are on What is a cheaper alternative to Vultr, DigitalOcean or Linode in Tokyo or Singapore?

Where can I pay for an Asia VPS in crypto with no card at all?

Hosts that take crypto for a VPS and ask for no ID at signup sell in all three cities: 18 of the 31 hosts checked on 2 November 2026 qualify. Their prices by city are on How much does a VPS cost per month in Hong Kong, Singapore and Tokyo?; the city lists are on Where can I get a Singapore VPS paid in Bitcoin or USDT? and Where can I rent a Japan (Tokyo) VPS and pay with crypto?

Lacquerbay is one of them. No KYC: we ask for no identity document, no selfie, no card and no phone number. It takes BTC, USDT, USDC, ETH, SOL, LTC from a prepaid balance, with a minimum top-up of $25. No KYC does not make you invisible: each payment stays on a public blockchain, our records tie your account number to your orders and VPS addresses, and the data centre network carries your VPS traffic.

Vultr, crypto and ID: short answers

Does Vultr accept Bitcoin?

Yes, through BitPay, along with eight other coins. The payment adds credit to the Vultr account balance.

Does Vultr accept USDT or Monero?

No. Neither is in the BitPay list on Vultr's payment-methods page updated 26 October 2026; the stablecoins listed are USDC, PAX, GUSD and BUSD.

Do I need a credit card to sign up with Vultr?

Vultr's documents disagree. The account guide allows a small deposit with any non-card method, while the billing FAQ says a card or PayPal must be linked to register for services.

Does Vultr require KYC?

No ID-document step appears in the Vultr signup documents read on 2 November 2026. The terms reserve an account verification process, and the payment-method page says the payment method helps verify identity.

Can I get a Vultr refund in crypto?

The terms say a refund, when made, goes to the original method of payment only. How that works for a BitPay payment is not stated in the documents read.

Sources (14)
  1. Create an account docs.vultr.com/platform/create-an-account — Vultr (read 2026-11-02; updated 2026-10-23)
  2. Billing FAQ docs.vultr.com/platform/billing/faq — Vultr (read 2026-11-02; updated 2026-10-23)
  3. What payment methods do you accept? docs.vultr.com/support/platform/billing/what-payment-methods-do-you-accept — Vultr (read 2026-11-02; updated 2026-10-26)
  4. Why do I need to enter a payment method? docs.vultr.com/support/platform/billing/why-do-i-need-to-enter-a-payment-method — Vultr (read 2026-11-02; updated 2026-10-26)
  5. Terms of Service vultr.com/legal/tos — Vultr (read 2026-11-02; last modified 2024-03-28)
  6. How can I increase my account limits? docs.vultr.com/support/platform/billing/how-can-i-increase-my-account-limits — Vultr (read 2026-11-02)
  7. Why is SMTP blocked? docs.vultr.com/support/products/compute/why-is-smtp-blocked — Vultr (read 2026-11-02)
  8. Pricing vultr.com/pricing — Vultr (read 2026-11-02)
  9. Manage payment methods docs.digitalocean.com/platform/billing/manage-payment-methods — DigitalOcean (read 2026-11-02)
  10. Why are you asking for my picture with my ID? (community question, 2017) digitalocean.com/community/questions/why-are-u-asking-for-my-picture-with-my-id — DigitalOcean Community (read 2026-11-02)
  11. Getting started (signup verification) — Akamai (read 2026-11-02)
  12. Create and activate an AWS account — Amazon Web Services (read 2026-11-02)
  13. Payment overview docs.hetzner.com/general/billing-and-account-management/billing-at-hetzner/payment-overview — Hetzner (read 2026-11-02; last change 2026-07-28)
  14. Fraud prevention FAQ docs.hetzner.com/general/security-and-identify/fraud-prevention-faq — Hetzner (read 2026-11-02; last change 2026-08-06)

From $3.75/month on 12 months · no KYC

Order an Asia VPS